top of page
  • Writer's pictureGM

Diabetic Travel Tips

Every aspect of a diabetic's life involves planning. This including going to new places. Without proper planning sometime the experience of travelling can be overwhelming. 


Here are five tips of having an amazing experience when you go on holiday.


1. Carry more medication than you need!

Being in a new place is exciting. Different cultures, food and at time completely different weather. You probably want to walk around and explore what this new place has to offer.

Diabetes affects every aspect of someone’s life and being in a new place can be unpredictable. Food, drinks and weather can change how your body works, so be ready to adjust doses (Speak to your diabetic team or GP if you don’t know how to adjust accordingly- I wouldn’t recommend you to just do it).


2. Check your blood sugar regularly 

So I’ve had to learn the hard way on this one ( I will do a story time on this one). I am actually a big foodie especially on holiday. I like to try new things and have the local treats however in some places the sugar content is not always stated. The only way to maintain your blood sugars well is to check more often than you would at home. 


3. Consider Time Zones.

If you take your insulin or medication at the same time everyday when you are at home, it's a good idea to check what time it is where you are going. 10 pm maybe 2 pm somewhere else. 

Depending on what the time zone change here are some ways to adjust to the change. (To be safe speak to your doctor or diabetic team)


Option a) I set an alarm for the equivalent time to home. This is only if the time is less than 6 hours difference (my preference really)


Option b) For more than 6 hours difference I actually adjust my time before I leave home setting it to my usual time - at the destination I'm going to. It will hurt for a day or 2, so I do it before I actually leave so that I actually enjoy my time away. (If you need me to explain more message me!)


4. Travel Insurance 


Getting ill abroad can be very costly and sometimes taking risks isn’t worth it. In most cases you will not need it but it’s always good to be prepared. It’s better to be safe than sorry, so getting insurance is the best bet. In case you do get ill, in most countries you will have to pay first then your insurance will cover when you get back home. If you are travelling in Europe from the UK getting a free EHIC (European Health Insurance Card) is a good idea. Things may change after if there is a no deal Brexit so just keep looking out. 


5. HAVE FUN! - I MEAN LOTS OF FUN!!!!

Constantly thinking about blood sugars and whats going on in your body can be overwhelming but the most important thing is to still live. Diabetes shouldn't take over your life but you should take over it. It's not always easy but once you get the hang of it fun is on the horizon.





Dare to be different!





27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page